Black Bean Cakes with Pineapple Rice

It’s funny to me that my first blog post would be a vegetarian meal, because I’m definitely no vegetarian!  However, tonight I was craving something lighter.  For all of you that know Ricky and I, you probably also know that we are regular customers at Big Daddy’s Burger Bar.  In fact we were there this past weekend after about a month hiatus and I was shocked to see that our drinks magically appeared before us while we waited for a table without even uttering what beer of choice I might have for the night.  That being said, Ricky’s order has slowly progressed from a burger with everything from a fried egg to chili to a salad with a black bean burger…which just shows you how good that black bean burger has to be!  Therefore tonight I ventured out and made my own black bean patties with a pineapple rice to compliment.  It turned out better than I expected and was a perfect accompaniment to a Tuesday night-which also if you know Ricky and I means Lost!

Adapted from: http://www.cookinglight.com

RICE:

  • 1  (3 1/2-ounce) bag boil-in-bag long-grain rice (I used Brown Rice)
  • 2  teaspoons  butter
  • 1  cup  diced fresh pineapple
  • 2  tablespoons  chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1/4  teaspoon  salt

PATTIES:

  • 2  cups  rinsed, drained canned black beans-you’ll have to use about 1.5 15oz cans to get 2 cups
  • the recipe calls for jar garlic which I try to shy away from so I used even more fresh garlic-about 2 cloves
  • I doubled the original amount of cumin to 1/2 tsp
  • 1/8  teaspoon  salt
  • 1  large egg white
  • 1/2  cup  cheese-the recipe calls for Monterrey Jack with jalapenos but I like to use the regular Monterray Jack and add my own jalapenos
  • 1/4  cup  chopped red onion
  • the recipe asks that you dredge your cakes in cornmeal, which I did not have and therefore used Jiffy Cornbread mix which worked great
  • Cooking spray
  • 1/4  cup  reduced-fat sour cream

Preparation

To prepare rice, cook rice according to package directions, omitting salt and fat. Drain; place rice in a large bowl. Melt butter in a nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add pineapple; sauté 4 minutes or just until pineapple begins to brown. Add pineapple mixture, cilantro, and 1/4 teaspoon salt to rice in bowl; cover and keep warm. Wipe pan clean with paper towels.

To prepare patties, place the beans, garlic, cumin, and 1/8 teaspoon salt in a bowl; mash everything with a fork.  The recipe calls for half to be done in a food processor but this will only make your patties fall apart and loose their shape. Add cheese and onion to bean mixture; stir until combined. Divide bean mixture into 4 equal portions, shaping each into a 1/2-inch-thick patty. Place cornmeal in a shallow dish. Dredge both sides of each patty in cornbread mix.

Heat pan over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add patties; cook 3 minutes on each side or until browned. Spoon about 1/2 cup rice onto each of 4 plates; top each serving with 1 patty and 1 tablespoon sour cream.

Explore posts in the same categories: Vegetarian

3 Comments on “Black Bean Cakes with Pineapple Rice”

  1. Tanner Says:

    This looks delicious Leigh, I can’t wait to try it!

  2. nikkigreer Says:

    Congrats on getting a blog going, ladies! It looks great and I look forward to following your culinary pursuits!

    Nikki

  3. ricky Says:

    did you hire a professional photographer??


Leave a Reply

