Project Phyllo

A couple weeks ago I went on a search for phyllo dough for a recipe I was making.  Phyllo dough is not that uncommon of a thing to find in a grocery so I was shocked and annoyed when I went to 3 different places to find it! When I finally got my hands on it I bought two boxes so I could make sure to avoid any more circumstances where it might turn out to be the elusive grocery store item.   So when I saw on the box that they were doing a monthly recipe contest, I decided to enter!  The month of March required that you use beef in the recipe and no more than 10 ingredients including the beef and phyllo.  I’m trying to lean more towards creating my own recipes and therefore what better incentive than money!  So here goes nothing!!

Beef and Apricot Hand Pies

Ingredients:
lb. ground beef
1 small onion minced
2 garlic cloves minced
1 15oz. diced tomatoes
1 1/2 tsp ground corriander
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup dried apricots chopped
salt and pepper to taste
phyllo dough

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Put ground beef in a non-stick skillet over medium high heat with onions and garlic. Saute until beef turns brown. Add tomatoes, spices and apricots. Let simmer for about 20 mins. Take one phyllo sheet out and spray half with cooking spray and fold in half. Spray half again and fold again so you have a small rectangle. Place about a 1/4 cup beef mixture on the center and fold over. Bake rectangles on a cookie sheet sprayed with cooking spray for 20 mins.

Explore posts in the same categories: Meat

Leave a Reply

