Sweet Sweet Herbs

There’s nothing better than fresh herbs!  I probably waste way too much money on buying them but I somehow can’t bring myself to use the dried stuff in most things I cook lately.  I definitely don’t have a green thumb but for some reason I think when I finally have a yard, my love for herbs will (hopefully!) motivate me to have a flourishing garden! In reality it might be more like herbs in the mist of a brown and barren yard but by golly there will be herbs!

I came across a recipe for Rosemary Shortbread about a month ago and have wanted to try it ever since.  It was a recipe that made me think of sitting outside on a warm day with a glass of white wine and a piece of Rosemary Shortbread.  It was a very vivid feeling which is odd since anyone that knows me knows that I am definitely a red wine girl, but this just seemed to make sense.  I hope to grow to expand my taste in white wine soon enough because over the summer I’m enrolled in an intensive wine course for 12 weeks.  Therefore be on the look out for blog tips on wine!  But to get back on topic, enjoy the shortbread.  I think it is a recipe you either love or hate being a cookie made with herbs, but even if you end up on the latter end it will make your house smell absolutely amazing!!

Rosemary Shortbread adapted from Epicurious.com

  • 3/4 sticks (6 tablespoons) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 tablespoons honey
  • 1/4 cup confectioners sugar
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh rosemary leaves chopped

Preheat oven to 300°F.

Whisk together flour, salt, baking powder, and rosemary in a bowl.

Mix together butter, honey, and confectioners sugar in a large bowl with an electric mixer at low speed, then add flour mixture and mix until dough resembles coarse mixture.  Keep kneading my hand or in mixer until dough comes together to form a ball.  Shape ball of dough into a cylinder that can later be sliced into cookies.  Wrap cylinder in Saran wrap and refrigerate for at least an hour.

After dough is chilled, slice into cookies and place on a greased sheet pan.  Arrange extra rosemary sprigs on top of dough, pressing lightly to help adhere, and sprinkle dough with granulated sugar.

Bake shortbread for 20 to 25 minutes.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

