Coleslaw just for you dad!

Growing up my sisters and I would go to my dad’s house on random weekends to spend the night.  When we were still pretty young my dad would make hamburgers and hot dogs, which to a 10-year-old was hog heaven (and I do mean hog)!  He would ask us the night before how many we wanted and each of us would proudly say something along the lines of 1 hamburger and 2 hotdogs (or vise versa) and the sad thing is we would polish it all off!  Us Moffitt girls loved food and some things just never change!  You will be happy to know that as we got older our slumber parties became more sophisticated with steak, venison, shrimp creole..those were just the highlights.  So therefore when my dad requested that I post the coleslaw recipe that completed my  bbq meal earlier this week, I couldn’t refuse! I have never made homemade coleslaw before and now that I have I’m not sure I’ll ever go back.  Store-bought tends to be a soggy mess but this was so much crunchier and it kept that crunchy texture through a full week of leftovers.   I like creamy coleslaw and this had a sweet creamy sauce without a mayonnaise type flavor.  So all in all, hope you like it dad!

Creamy Buttermilk Coleslaw

from Cooks Illustrated July 2002 via crumblycookie.net
  • 1 pound cabbage (about ½ medium head) shredded fine (6 cups)
  • table salt
  • 1 medium carrot, shredded on box grater
  • ½ cup buttermilk
  • 2 tablespoons mayonnaise
  • 2 tablespoons sour cream
  • 1 small shallot, minced (about 2 tablespoons)
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh parsley leaves
  • ½ teaspoon cider vinegar
  • ½ teaspoon granulated sugar
  • ¼ teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper

1. Toss shredded cabbage and 1 teaspoon salt in colander or large mesh strainer set over medium bowl. Let stand until cabbage wilts, at least 1 hour or up to 4 hours. Rinse cabbage under cold running water. Press, but do not squeeze, to drain; pat dry with paper towels. Place wilted cabbage and carrot in large bowl.

2. Stir buttermilk, mayonnaise, sour cream, shallot, parsley, vinegar, sugar, mustard, ¼ teaspoon salt, and pepper together in small bowl. Pour dressing over cabbage and toss to combine; refrigerate until chilled, at least 30 minutes but I find a couple hours works much better.

Explore posts in the same categories: sides, Uncategorized, Vegetable

Leave a Reply

