Mango Salsa with Fish Tacos

How nice would it be to live in a tropical place and walk outside your door and pick a few mangos off the tree.  While I’m fantasizing, I’m thinking that it would probably be a coastal town in the Caribbean.  Therefore not only could I just go pick fresh mangos, but I would also leisurely wander down and buy fresh fish from the dock.  Awww, it would have been great!  But alas, here I am in Charlotte, NC and I don’t think Lake Norman classifies as a place to get fresh fish.  But I can still pretend and make a fabulous fish taco with fresh salsa.  I love homemade salsa, especially in the summer when you can add fresh fruit to it.  This mango salsa I altered from a recipe I had for peach salsa and I couldn’t tell which one I enjoyed more.  It was great with fish tacos but would be just as good with chips or even on pork or grilled salmon.  So even though your mangos might not come from your back yard, it still tastes just as sweet!


SALSA:

  • 2  cups  finely chopped peeled mango (about 2 medium)
  • 1/2  cup  finely chopped red onion
  • 2  tablespoons  chopped cilantro
  • 1  tablespoon  fresh lime juice
  • 1/2  teaspoon  kosher salt
  • 1/8  teaspoon  ground red pepper
  • 1  jalapeño pepper, seeded and finely chopped
  • 1  garlic clove, minced

Combine all ingredients and mix well. Chill for an hour to let the flavors blend.

To make the fish tacos, slice tilapia or any other fish you prefer and coat in a mixture of panko, a dash of salt, and a touch of ground red pepper and bake for about 10 minutes until the fish becomes flakey.  Top with sour cream.

Explore posts in the same categories: fish, fruit

One Comment on “Mango Salsa with Fish Tacos”

  1. katie Says:

    yummmm leigh this looks heavenly!!!


Leave a Reply

