Curry Chicken Salad with Almonds

May is a busy month, but I can’t complain too much because it’s busy with lots of fun things.  This weekend will be the second weekend in a row where I will make the trek down to Pawley’s Island for wedding related activities.  Although it will be a busy weekend with all the festivities, I am definitely planning on sneaking in as much beach time as possible.   We have a beach villa rented for the weekend so I figured between beach and wedding stuff, it never hurts to have some food on hand!  I love chicken salad but I’m a little picky about it mainly because you can make it in about a zillion different ways so you never quite know what you’re going to get.  This recipe sold me because I absolutely love curry and even better, I didn’t even have to go to the grocery to make it!  If you like curry, then it’s absolutely delicious!  I can wait to enjoy it on homemade sourdough bread while I sit on the beach soaking up some rays this weekend! 

Curry Chicken Salad with Almonds

adapted from cookinglight.com

Ingredients:

  • Cooking spray
  • 2 1/2  tablespoons  finely chopped onion
  • 1 1/2  tablespoons  dark brown sugar
  • 1 1/2  tablespoons  cider vinegar, divided
  • 2  cups  chopped roasted skinless, boneless chicken breast
  • 3  tablespoons  reduced-fat mayonnaise
  • 1/2  teaspoon  curry powder
  • 1/8  teaspoon  salt
  • Optional:  I added a couple of tbs. of chopped almonds for a little crunch

Heat a small nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add onion to pan; sauté 5 minutes. Combine sugar and 1 1/2 teaspoons vinegar, stirring with a whisk until sugar dissolves. Add sugar mixture to pan, scraping pan to loosed browned bits. Remove from heat; cool to room temperature.

Combine onion mixture, remaining 1 tablespoon vinegar, chicken, and remaining ingredients.  Enjoy with crackers or my personal favorite, some sourdough bread.

Explore posts in the same categories: sandwiches

Leave a Reply

