Chicken Curry Burgers

This didn’t make the prettiest picture but it made for one fabulous burger!  I went home a couple of weeks ago and my passion for cooking came from my mom, so what do we do when I go home but peruse hundreds of recipes to figure out the perfect thing to cook.  Well this was not the elaborate meal we cooked but it was one of her many many torn out recipes that caught my eye and was somehow “accidentally” left in my purse when I got back home.  I love curry and this is the perfect combination of a sweet yet spicy burger.  If you share my love of curry then I promise you will love these burgers!

Chicken Curry Burgers

Ingredients

  • 1 lb ground chicken
  • 1/2 C. diced onion
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tsp curry powder
  • 1 egg beaten
  • 1/2 cup fresh bread crumbs
  • 1/2 Granny Smith apples peeled and grated
  • 1/4 C. mango chutney
  • 2 green onions chopped
  • 1/2 tsp ancho chili powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 4 hamburger buns

Sauté onions in olive oil over medium high heat until they just start to soften.
Add curry powder and continue to cook 1 minute. Remove from heat.
In a medium bowl, combine chicken, egg, bread crumbs, apple, mango chutney, green onions, salt and pepper. Fold all of the ingredients together without smashing them together.
Chill bowl for an hour.
Divide chicken mixture into 4 balls and form into patties. Try not to make them too compacted.

Grill patties on the grill on in a grill pan.  The mixture will seem somewhat ‘wet’ but they will come together just fine once they start cooking.  The recipe recommended serving these with lemonaise which you can find at the grocery. I tried it out of curiosity and it was okay but I think the best way is to rub a little garlic paste and grill your buns and do without a sauce-the burgers have enough flavor on their own!



Explore posts in the same categories: Chicken

Leave a Reply

