Baked butter garlic oyster

I have Spring Fever…I mean serious Spring Fever.  I’m ready for flip flops and sundresses and especially dinner outside!  I can’t imagine living in an area that doesn’t have seasons because although I complain about the winter a lot, it really doesn’t last too long in North Carolina and it really does make the Spring weather that much sweeter!  This Saturday was a wonderful  70 degrees out.  I almost wasn’t sure what to do with myself because I certainly didn’t want to be inside.  I therefore spent my day wandering around Charlotte just to be outside, however before I knew it it was almost 5 and I had hardly thought about food (which is quite strange for me!).  It was the perfect time to sit outside with a glass of wine and oysters.  I LOVE oysters!  There are so many things you can do with them.  We had a week in culinary school that was spent on seafood and I think I ate about 100 oysters that week and now I just crave them!  Once you get through the shucking process (the darn things definitely got the best of me with a couple scrapes), they are just a simple yet delicious dish.    Let your imagination run wild with them, whether you like them raw or cooked, but until you figure out how you like them-here’s my suggestion.

 

Baked butter and garlic oysters

  • about 8 oysters, shucked
  • about half a stick of unsalted butter
  • 2 minced garlic cloves
  • about 1/4 cup chopped parsley
  • 1tsp minced chives
  • 2 tbs. parmesan
  • 1/2 lemon squeezed

Melt butter in a small sauce pan and add garlic.  Saute garlic for about 1 minute until it become fragrant.  Add the rest of the ingredients and stir about another minute or two and remove from heat.  Spoon into oysters  (leaving about 1 tsp in the bottom on the pan) that are shucked and layed out in a oven-proof dish.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Slice a french bread baguette into a slice per oyster and dip slices into remaining butter in pan and arrange around the outside of the oyster dish.  Bake about 12 minutes and once they have slightly cooled spoon oysters on baguette slices and enjoy!

Explore posts in the same categories: appetizer, seafood

Leave a Reply

