Pear and Gorgonzola Tart

Any time that I have down time in my day, I cook.  I guess that was part of the drive for me originally to go to culinary school.  When I was in my old job, my whole day was spent thinking about what I wanted to cook next or what flavors I wanted to try out.  Even now between cooking all morning at school and cooking at a restaurant at night, I still spend my free time in the kitchen.  However a lot of times these days I can’t make a complete meal and therefore will make things like pizza dough, empanada dough, sauces, and all the ingredients that freeze well so I can quickly throw something together down the road.  Well I had a huge batch of flakey yeast dough in my freezer which is something you can use for tons of different things, but personally I love a savory tart.  This was a great recipe!  Ricky and I finished the entire thing in 24 hours and I already want to make another.  Buy a pie crust from the grocery and it’s easy to put together; you won’t be disappointed!

Pear Gorgonzola Tart

adapted from Giada de Laurentiis

Ingredients

  • Tart shell (I used a recipe for flakey yeast dough but you could also by a pie shell)
  • 4 ounces cream cheese
  • 2 ounces Gorganzola
  • 1 teaspoon fresh thyme, chopped
  • Pinch salt
  • Pinch freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 3 small pears, cored and sliced
  • 2 ounces prosciutto, cut into thin strips (I used a full 4 oz.)

Bake the pie shell in a square or round tart pan. Remove from the oven and let cool slightly.

Meanwhile, combine the cream cheese, Gorgonzola, thyme, salt, and pepper in a medium bowl. Whip together until smooth.

In a large, heavy skillet, melt the butter over medium-high heat. Add the pears and cook until golden on both sides, about 5 minutes to 8 minutes.

When the tart crust has cooled slightly, (although make sure it is still warm so the cheese mix will spread easier) gently spread the whipped cheese mixture evenly over the bottom of the tart. Place the pear slices in a decorative pattern over the cheese mixture. Sprinkle the thin strips of prosciutto over the pears.

Cut into squares or wedges and serve.

Explore posts in the same categories: fruit

Leave a Reply

